Shalane Frost took the win of the first Wednesday Night Race of the season on November 13 in windy, challenging conditions.

Frost won with a time of 16 minutes, 12 seconds over the two-lap, 5-kilometer course at Birch Hill Recreation Area. Max Kaufman took second place (and was the first male finisher) just 10 seconds behind. Steve Taylor rounded out the podium with a time of 18:13, though he did ski an extra 200 meters on the first lap due to “inadequate course marking,” according to Race Director Peter Delamere, who vows he will “do better next time.”

A winter storm brought very windy and hardpacked conditions to Birch Hill, though the temperature at race start was a comfortable 4F above. Director Delamere skied the first lap of the race and managed to prevent a “short cut” by winner Shalane Frost, though Delamere’s voice was barely audible above the howling gale.

While most skiers chose to do the race with skating technique, three skiers chose classic technique. Bobby Gillis finished in sixth place (21:57), Drew Harrington finished in ninth place (23:48) and Amanda Byrd finished in 13th place (26:40).  More results below.

A field of 13 skiers competed in the race, which tested everyone’s “early season technical skills,” Delamere said, adding that the race was a good warmup for the upcoming Nordic Ski Club of Fairbanks Town Series and Turkey Day Relay races.

Watch the Wednesday Night Race series page for information on the next race ( The series, sponsored by the Nordic Ski Club of Fairbanks, is an all ages and all abilities series of ski races. These family-friendly events are a great way to get to know your ski club, test your skills on the trails, and have a little fun.

Race day registration is on-site beginning at 5:45pm. Races start at 6:30pm. Fee is $5 for one-time entry or $25 for the season.  Races will be rescheduled if temperatures are -5 F or colder.


  1. Shalane Frost                     16:12
  2. Max Kaufman                      16:22
  3. Steve Taylor                        18:13
  4. Erica Blake                          19:48
  5. Tom Dale                             20:14
  6. Bob Gillis (classic)              21:57
  7. Tracie Curry                       21:57
  8. Chris Puchner                     22:29
  9. Drew Harrington (classic) 23:48
  10. Barb Creighton                 24:30
  11. Owen Hanley                    25:00
  12. MK Romberg                    25:04
  13. Amanda Byrd (classic)    26:40